How we make money

Buying guide · desk research, brand figures checked 2026-10-31

Lighter commuter e-bikes to consider for stairs

Our pick: the Velotric Tempo, $1,449 (checked 2026-11-05), light for an e-bike at 42 lb.

More

Weight decides: we screen at 50 lb for one flight and 40 lb for two or more.

Weight decides. We screen with 50 lb for one flight and 40 lb for two or more; your own comfortable limit matters more. 5 of the 18 documented commuter e-bikes in our core pass the one-flight screen on recorded weight, and none passes the two-flight screen. 5 more in our wider catalog meet the same rule but aren't picks: their purchase-risk evidence isn't on file (listed below).

"Recorded weight" means a real scale reading where the equipment on the scale or the tested build isn't fully stated, so a pass on it is provisional.

Check against my stairs and heightNo sign-up. We'll say so if nothing passes.

Why trust this
  • Up to three options for you, not a list of 40 bikes
  • Which researched bikes failed your requirements, and which need confirmation
  • We say "don't buy" when nothing passes
  • Evidence labels and dates on product specs
  • How we pick

Our pick at each budget

Budget groups use brand-site prices checked 2026-11-05.

Under $1,500

Velotric Tempo

$1,449 on velotricbike.com, checked 2026-11-05

Why: 42 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 39 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight. For two or more flights it's a close call, within 10% of our 40 lb screen: the chat shows it only as conditional until the weighed equipment is confirmed (recorded weight).

Weighed on the high-step frame; other sizes and frames weren't weighed.

One thing to know: Light motor (45 Nm): fine on flat ground, slow on steep climbs.

Check it against my answers

$1,500 to $2,500

Priority Bicycles Glide

$1,799 on prioritybicycles.com, checked 2026-11-05

Why: 49.7 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 49 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight.

The reviewer didn't say which size or frame was weighed.

One thing to know: Small battery (374 Wh): shorter range, the price of low weight.

Check it against my answers

Over $2,500

Nothing we checked passes at this price. That's an honest gap, not an oversight.

We found no public certificate listing yet for Velotric Tempo and Priority Bicycles Glide; each card shows what the maker claims; no certifier listing confirms it yet.

More about these picks

Chosen by the published rule below. Numbers are what each brand publishes, except weights labeled as measured by a named reviewer; for stairs we screen on the heavier figure.

Choosing between two? Velotric Breeze 1 vs Priority Glide for stairs · Velotric T1 ST Plus vs Tempo: weighed, not claimed

Folding doesn't guarantee easy carrying

Independent reviewers' reported complete-bike weights put the tested configurations of 5 of the 5 folding e-bikes in our core above our 50 lb one-flight screen: 56 lb to about 71.5 lb. Folding can help with storage; for stairs, weight, a removable battery, grip points and your own strength matter more.

The folding bikes, weighed
BikeReported complete-bike weight (battery basis)Weighed byPublishedConfiguration testedBrand says
Blix Vika X56 lb
battery in, stated by the reviewer
Electric Bike Report2024-10-19single frame sizeThe brand's own figures conflict (spec table says 55 lb; page text says 61 lb with battery and 56 lb without).
Lectric XP Lite 357.4 lb
battery in, stated by the reviewer
Rider Guide2026-10-29chain drive, long-range battery, $999 trim49 lb
Velotric Fold 1 Plus67.4 lb
battery in, stated by the reviewer
Electric Bike Report2025-06-26size and version not stated63 lb
Ride1Up Portola 0270.9 lb
battery in, stated by the reviewer
Electric Bike Review2026-08-18standard Portola 02 with the 15 Ah battery61 lb
Lectric XP4 750 Long-Rangeabout 71.5 lb
battery in, stated by the reviewer
OutdoorGearLab2025-08-25750 W with the 840 Wh (17.5 Ah) long-range battery71 lb

Compiled from independent reviewers' reported scale weights: the highest qualifying reviewer reading per model, so other configurations may weigh less. The table gives sources, publication dates and configuration caveats. Brand figures are shown alongside and never set the range. Our 50 lb screen is an editorial planning number, not a safe-lifting limit. Checked 2026-10-31.

The three picks, explained

Our pick: under $1,500

Velotric Tempo

$1,449 on velotricbike.com, checked 2026-11-05

Why it's here: 42 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 39 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight. For two or more flights it's a close call, within 10% of our 40 lb screen: the chat shows it only as conditional until the weighed equipment is confirmed (recorded weight).

Weighed on the high-step frame; other sizes and frames weren't weighed.

One thing to know: Light motor (45 Nm): fine on flat ground, slow on steep climbs.

Other things to know
  • Small battery (374 Wh): shorter range, the price of low weight.
  • Throttle with assist above 20 mph may not meet Class 2/3 definitions in some states; the chat checks yours.
  • Weight limit 330 lb as listed; the brand doesn't say whether that includes the bike.
Returns, specs and sources

If you ride it and send it back: 14 days from delivery. Stated restocking charge $200 if unused; prepaid label after approval. Ridden: Velotric's page is unclear about returning a ridden bike, so don't count on it. Velotric may also deduct delivery signature, return shipping and insurance, and doesn't publish how much. Refusing delivery costs $200. Unclear in the policy: Policy lists a 22% fee for used bikes but also lists 'used products' as non-returnable. Seller's return policy (read 2026-10-31).

Weight with battery42 lb Weighed 42 lb with the battery by Electric Bike Report (published 2026-03-17; version tested: high-step frame). Brand says 39 lb (the brand's note: without fenders, kickstand and pedals). We screen on the heavier figure. measured by a reviewer
Motor torque45 Nm brand figure
MotorHub, 350 W 650W peak brand figure
Rider height (brand size chart)Mid-step Regular 4'10"-5'5"; Mid-step Large 5'3"-5'11"; High-step Regular 4'11"-5'8"; High-step Large 5'6"-6'4" brand figure
Standover and saddle height by sizeMid-Step Regular: standover 20.5 in (521 mm), saddle 29.5 in (750 mm) to 38.6 in (980 mm); Mid-Step Large: standover 22.8 in (578 mm), saddle 31.5 in (800 mm) to 40.6 in (1030 mm); High-Step Regular: standover 27.8 in (705 mm), saddle 30.7 in (780 mm) to 39.8 in (1010 mm); High-Step Large: standover 28.5 in (724 mm), saddle 32.7 in (830 mm) to 41.7 in (1060 mm) brand figure
Step-through frameYes Mid-Step and High-Step frames brand figure
Battery374 Wh brand figure
Brand's range claimup to 60 miles brand claim
Weight limit330 lb, the brand doesn't say whether this includes the bike (brand's label: Max Bike Load) brand figure
ThrottleYes detachable thumb throttle; no Class 3 throttle unlock brand figure
Class (as listed)Class 1/2/3 brand figure
Safety certification (UL 2849)Maker says UL 2849 certified (not independently verified) (maker's page, checked 2026-10-31) maker's claim

Source: velotricbike.com (brand page, checked 2026-11-05)

The chat checks next: your load, the exact frame size for your height, your route and your state's rules.

Check the Tempo against my answers

Our pick: $1,500 to $2,500

Priority Bicycles Glide

$1,799 on prioritybicycles.com, checked 2026-11-05

Why it's here: 49.7 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 49 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight.

The reviewer didn't say which size or frame was weighed.

One thing to know: Small battery (374 Wh): shorter range, the price of low weight.

Other things to know
  • About 250.3 lb for rider plus cargo (gross limit minus the bike), on the low side.
  • Motor torque not published.
Returns, specs and sources

If you ride it and send it back: Buyer pays return shipping and reboxing, and the original outbound shipping cost is deducted from the refund. 30 days. Seller's return policy (read 2026-10-31).

Weight with battery49.7 lb Weighed 49.7 lb with the battery by Bikerumor (published 2025-11-29; size and version not stated). Brand says 49 lb (the brand's note: including battery, pedals, fenders, double-leg kickstand). We screen on the heavier figure. measured by a reviewer
Motor torquenot published
MotorHub, 350 W brand figure
Rider height (brand size chart)S/M 5'2"-5'10"; M/L 5'9"-6'2" brand figure
Standover and saddle height by sizeSmall/Medium: standover 25 in; Medium/Large: standover 27 in brand figure
Step-through frameYes brand figure
Battery374 Wh brand figure
Brand's range claimnot published
Weight limit300 lb, includes the bike (brand's label: Weight Limit) brand figure
Left for rider + cargoabout 250.3 lb gross limit minus the bike's weight estimated
ThrottleYes brand figure
Class (as listed)Class 2 brand figure
Safety certification (UL 2849)Maker says UL 2849 certified (not independently verified) (maker's page, checked 2026-10-31) maker's claim

Source: prioritybicycles.com (brand page, checked 2026-11-05)

The chat checks next: your load, the exact frame size for your height, your route and your state's rules.

Check the Glide against my answers

3 more that pass

Show them, with the one thing to know about each
BikeWhy it passesOne thing to knowPrice
Ride1Up Roadster V344 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 40 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight. For two or more flights it's a close call, within 10% of our 40 lb screen: the chat shows it only as conditional until the weighed equipment is confirmed (recorded weight).Small battery (360 Wh): shorter range, the price of low weight.$1,295 on ride1up.com, checked 2026-11-05 Return eligibility unconfirmed at this price; sale exclusions may apply.Check fit
Velotric T1 ST Plus44 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 39 lb): under our 50 lb screen for one flight. For two or more flights it's a close call, within 10% of our 40 lb screen: the chat shows it only as conditional until the weighed equipment is confirmed (recorded weight).Light motor (40 Nm): fine on flat ground, slow on steep climbs.$1,399 on velotricbike.com, checked 2026-11-05Check fit
Aventon Soltera 2.546 lb: under our 50 lb screen for one flight (recorded weight).Light motor (45 Nm): fine on flat ground, slow on steep climbs.$1,199 on aventon.com, checked 2026-11-05Check fit

Close calls: over the one-flight screen

Show all 13
  • Velotric Breeze 1: 50.1 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 48 lb): over our 50 lb one-flight screen, a near miss. Whether you can carry it daily is unconfirmed.
  • Trek Verve+ 2 Lowstep (Gen 3): 51.8 lb: over our 50 lb one-flight screen, a near miss. Whether you can carry it daily is unconfirmed.
  • Priority Bicycles Current Plus: 55 lb: over our 50 lb one-flight screen, a near miss. Whether you can carry it daily is unconfirmed.
  • Blix Vika X: 56 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 55 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Priority Bicycles E-Coast: 57 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 56 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Lectric XP Lite 3: 57.4 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 49 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Gazelle Medeo T9 HMB: 59.3 lb: over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Aventon Pace 5 REC (step-through): 61.6 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 60.5 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Blix Sol X: 62 lb: over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Velotric Summit 2: 63.3 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 57 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Aventon Level 3: 67 lb: over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Velotric Fold 1 Plus: 67.4 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 63 lb): over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.
  • Lectric XP4 500: 69 lb: over our one-flight screen; under our 70 lb screen for a few steps. Whether you can carry it is unconfirmed.

Researched, not picks

These pass the screen on published specs, but they are outside our documented core: we don't have their return terms, warranty or other purchase-risk evidence on file yet, so we don't make them a pick.

Show 5
  • Qualisports Nemo: 34.8 lb: under our 40 lb screen for two or more flights (recorded weight). Purchase-risk evidence not on file.
  • Mokwheel Flint: 36 lb: under our 40 lb screen for two or more flights (recorded weight). Purchase-risk evidence not on file.
  • Qualisports Volador: 41.2 lb: under our 50 lb screen for one flight. For two or more flights it's a close call, within 10% of our 40 lb screen: the chat shows it only as conditional until the weighed equipment is confirmed (recorded weight). Purchase-risk evidence not on file.
  • Specialized Turbo Vado SL 2 5.0 EQ: 44.3 lb: under our 50 lb screen for one flight (recorded weight). Purchase-risk evidence not on file.
  • Lectric XP Lite 3 Long-Range Belt: 49 lb: under our 50 lb screen for one flight (recorded weight). Purchase-risk evidence not on file.
Read the full guide

Living with an e-bike in an apartment

1. Be honest about the weight you will carry

Most commuter e-bikes weigh 45 to 80 lb. Carrying one up a flight of stairs once is easy to imagine. Doing it twice a day, with groceries, in the rain, is different. To sort bikes, the chat uses these screening numbers:

  • Two or more flights: 40 lb. Very few e-bikes are that light once they are weighed with the battery and everything you ride with; advertised weights often leave out fenders, kickstand or pedals.
  • One flight: 50 lb.
  • A few steps to a door or porch: 70 lb.

They are planning numbers for sorting a catalog, not a safe-lifting guideline. Your own comfortable limit decides, along with the bike's shape and grip points and the turns in your stairs. If lifting is hard for you, plan around ground-floor or bike-room storage instead. A bike you stop riding because carrying it is a chore is the most expensive bike of all.

2. Take the battery off first

If the battery is removable, carrying it separately takes several pounds off the bike. As a rough guide, a 500 Wh battery weighs around 7 to 8 lb (our estimate from typical batteries). Each card says whether the battery is removable; if it is, plan on two trips.

3. Elevators and hallways

Most full-size e-bikes are about 6 feet long. Measure your elevator's depth and the diagonal. Many riders roll the bike in standing on its back wheel, which needs a bike whose rack or fenders don't get in the way. A "walk mode" (motor help at walking pace) makes pushing a heavy bike up ramps and through doors much easier; check the spec sheet.

4. Folding does not mean light

Folding e-bikes take up less floor space and fit in a car trunk or closet. But many weigh 60 lb or more, because the hinges and smaller frames carry the same motor and battery. Fold for space, not for stairs. The weights below show the difference.

5. Where it lives

  • Floor stands are easier than wall hooks for heavy e-bikes. If you hang one, use a hook rated for the weight and fix it into a wall stud.
  • Bike rooms and building garages are theft targets. Lock the bike to something solid even inside, and record the serial number.
  • Check your lease or building rules. Some buildings restrict e-bike storage or indoor charging.

6. Charging indoors safely

Battery fires are a serious hazard when charging and storing an e-bike, and an apartment is where a fire does the most harm. Fire-safety advice comes from the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and fire-service groups such as the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); each habit says where it comes from:

  • Buy a bike whose whole electrical system is certified (UL 2849), and look for the mark on the product, not only on the box. A battery-only certification doesn't cover the whole system. (Our reading; CPSC says to buy products certified to the applicable standards.)
  • Use only the charger that came with the bike, or one the manufacturer confirms. Never a "universal" charger. (CPSC)
  • Store and charge it away from exit doors and anything that can get hot or catch fire, and unplug it when it's full. (NFPA)
  • Charge while you are home and awake, not while you sleep or when you're out. (CPSC)
  • Stop using a battery with an unusual odor, a change in color or shape, too much heat, or that is leaking, smoking or not keeping a charge. (NFPA) If it smokes or catches fire, get out and call 911. (Our advice.)

Read the full guidance on the CPSC micromobility page, the NFPA tips as reported by Fire Engineering (October 25, 2022), and our charging and battery guide.

How we picked

By published rule, never by commission.

More
  • Rule: Weight with the battery, as published, against our screening numbers: 40 lb for two or more flights, 50 lb for one flight, 70 lb for a few steps. This page applies them strictly; bikes just over a line are shown as close calls. These sort a catalog; they are not a safe-lifting guideline. Where a brand lists weight without the battery, we add the battery back.
  • Order: Bikes within our one-flight carrying limit, ordered lightest first (weight with battery), then cheaper.
  • Data: each brand's own product page, checked 2026-10-31. Numbers are brand figures unless labeled otherwise. This is desk research: we haven't tested these bikes.
  • Not an input: commission, affiliate status or anything a brand pays. How we pick.

Why other bikes aren't here

Every bike in our catalog went through the same screen. 18 commuter bikes didn't pass: the 13 close calls above, and 5 more listed here.

Show each one and the reason
  • Aventon Level 4 REC: 70.7 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 68.5 lb): plan for ground-floor or elevator storage.
  • Himiway A7 Pro: 77 lb: plan for ground-floor or elevator storage.
  • Lectric XP4 750 Long-Range: 71.5 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 71 lb): plan for ground-floor or elevator storage.
  • Ride1Up Portola 02: 70.9 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 61 lb): plan for ground-floor or elevator storage.
  • Ride1Up Vorsa: 70.6 lb measured by a reviewer (brand says 65 lb): plan for ground-floor or elevator storage.
23 more: outside this page's commuter scope, or missing data we need
  • Heybike Cityscape 2.0: Weight with battery not published, so we can't recommend it for stairs.
  • Pedego Element Core: Weight with battery not published, so we can't recommend it for stairs.
  • Velowave Prado S: Weight with battery not published, so we can't recommend it for stairs.
  • Aventon Abound LR: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Aventon Aventure 3: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Aventon Current ADV: Not on this page: a trail or mountain bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Blix Packa Genie: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Heybike Mars 3.0: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Himiway C3 Cargo: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Himiway D5 Zebra: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Lectric XP Trike 2: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Lectric XPeak 2.0: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Lectric XPedition 2.0: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Super73 S2 Laguna: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Super73 ZX: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3): Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Tern Quick Haul D8: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Velotric GoMad: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Velotric Triker: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire: Not on this page: a fat-tire bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Xtracycle The Hopper: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.
  • Yuba Spicy Curry: Not on this page: a cargo or family bike. Ask the chat if that's what you need.

Which one suits your ride?

Your height, budget, route, stairs and state change the answer. The chat checks them.

Check against my stairs and height